About Nesa

Chairman's Message

On behalf of our executive committee, board, member counties, our private sector supporters and the great citizens of the NESA Region, let me welcome you to our website. We hope that this site serves as a resource as you consider investing in northeastern South Carolina. Our staff is here to assist your company in finding an ideal location for any manufacturing, distribution, or back-office operations that you may be considering.

With more than 50 years of combined experience and expertise in assisting companies in making important site selection decisions, our experience along with deep local knowledge and a wealth of comprehensive resources will help your company identify a location that makes sense from both a logistics and workforce perspective.

We look forward to working with you as you explore the abundant opportunities offered by the communities of northeastern South Carolina. Please call or email us so that we can begin working for you today.


Former South Carolina Lt. Governor Yancey McGill

NESA Chairman


Jeff McKay

Executive Director

(843) 661-4669


Jeffrey DeLung

Director of Business Development

(843) 661-1206


Hixon Copp

Director of Research & Special Projects

(843) 661-1665


Jennifer Grigg

Director of Investor Relations

(843) 661-1170


Rich Spivey

Manufacturing & Technology Advisor

(843) 661-4669


Elizabeth McCarley

Director of Marketing

(843) 661-1267


Board Members

Executive Committee Members

Mr. Yancey McGill

Chairman of the NESA Executive Committee

Former South Carolina Lieutenant Governor

Senator Luke Rankin, Esq.

South Carolina Senate

Senator Kent Williams

South Carolina Senate

Rep. Roger K. Kirby

South Carolina State Representative

Dr. Fred Carter


Francis Marion University

Dr. Michael Benson


Coastal Carolina University

Frank J. “Buddy” Brand


Florence County Council

Mr. Mark Lazarus

Former Chairman

Horry County Council

Mr. Stephen Wukela, Esq.

Former Mayor

City of Florence

Jean Leatherman

Board Members

Mrs. Mary Anderson

Representing Chesterfield County

Chesterfield County Council Member

Mr. John Q. Atkinson

Representing Marion County

Marion County Council Member

Mr. John Bloom

Assistant Vice President, Government Affairs

Blue Cross Blue Shield of South Carolina

Mrs. Angela Christian

Representing Georgetown County

Georgetown County Administrator

Dr. Tiffany Cooks

Representing Williamsburg County

Williamsburg County Supervisor

Mr. Mike Cool

Manager, Economic Development

Santee Cooper

Mr. Johnny Gardner

Horry County Council Chairman

Representing Horry County

Mr. Benjy Hardee

Board Member

Grand Strand Water and Sewer Authority

Dr. Linda Hayes

Representing Dillon County

Senator Gerald Malloy

Representing Darlington County

South Carolina State Senator

Mr. K.G. “Rusty” Smith, Jr.

Representing Florence County

Florence County Administrator

Mr. Jason Speake

Senior Economic Development Manager

Duke Energy Progress

Mr. Jason Steen

Representing Marlboro County

Marlboro County Council Chairman

North Eastern Strategic Alliance

P.O. Box 100547
Florence, South Carolina, USA 29502


Send Us A Message

See Staff Info

© 2022 The North Eastern Strategic Alliance    |    website design by DuBose Web Group